What would you do?

• Hi Everyone,
    I am a newbie to the forum - don't know how quiet it is typically, certainly seems quiet.

Anyways, though't I would try and start a discussion.

You have been asked by a friend to go along and help assess a dog he/she are interested in buying. The vendor assures them pre visit this dog is a real man stopper.

Your friends requirements are for a dog who will ALWAYS focus on the man, and not just the sleeve etc they are wearing.

In the interests off discussion re this forum, you are allowed by the vendor to test the dog only once.

How / what would you do? :thumbsup2:

(There is of course more than one way to skin a cat, but will be interesting to compare thought's / tactics)

Regards
    Gee

• Good question Gee,

Forum goes quiet from time to time then fires up for a month or so-that's how it seems to work here.

What I would do?

1) Take dog to neutral place it has never been before with familiar handler.
    2) Have handler and dog explore area for 5-10 minutes
    3) Approach handler and dog in a friendly way, briefly saying hello and ontinuing on my way. Goal here is to look for a dog that is neutral or firendly.
    4) Come back to handler and dog and act in a suspcicious/agressive way looking to get the dog to engage and act agressively.

I dont need a dog to bite a sleeve to know it will bite. I only need the eye contact and vocalizations of the dog to know what it is made of.

A man stopper is more of a physical component of a dog rather than a mental one once you have washed out all barking dogs. People label dogs a man stopper just because it will bite a man and not stop-that is not a man stopper.

Man stopper=dog that stops man....period. You let your brain do the math.

• Hi Brody,
    Good reply, I especially liked -

"I don't need a dog to bite a sleeve to know it will bite. I only need the eye contact and vocalizations of the dog to know what it is made of".