E-Collar Training

• I recently bought two brand-new Dogtra 1900NCP e-collars. I've never before used an e-collar. I trust the concept of corrections is pretty much the same whether the dog is attached to the end of a leash or if the dog is only on an e-collar.

Please feel free to share with me any links, suggestions, etc. that you may have relating to this topic. Thanks! :thumbsup1:

• Here is an interesting article,hope it helps some.There is another one that I am trying to find but of course you can never find it when you need it....

• I'm no expert on e-collar but I do own one (tri-tronics classic 70) and have a few videos on the subject. I believe the use of the collar has to be approached with careful consideration. I personally don't like the e-collar. I have a natural aversion to giving a dog a stim and haven't yet defined why I feel this way. One obvious reason is that I don't like relying on a gadget that must be on the dog for the dog to respond to me. I realize that a dog can be weaned off the collar by careful juggling between the actual collar, dummy collar and other collars but some dogs still see through it. I would rather use other methods whenever possible but recognize that in some situations the e-collar is indispensible.